Uganda

4 06 2011

I will be
In Uganda for the next few weeks. I will post pictures when I can but mostly I will be writing journal type entries.

It is tough being away from my family. Although I will soon have a cell phone and mobile Internet it is a bit unnerving being halfway around the world.

We the study abroad program I am with left on June 2nd at 5:30 pm from ATL. It took us around 24 hours to get to Entebbe, Uganda. Once there we stayed at the Central Inn(?). We were supposed to stay at the travelers inn and Dr. Ukeje made some last minute fixes as our reservations with the travelers inn were lost. Nice place. Had wireless Internet and hot water. There was even a tv in the room.

I got up in time to see he sunrise over Lake Victoria. A very good way to start the day. We ate breakfast and left the hotel around 10:00 am. We arrived at the guest house on Makerere University’s campus around 11:30. I think we all had fish and chips for lunch. Lunch plus a beer was around $5.45.

We are now waiting to go to a street fair. I am assuming that it will be like our city festivals.

I’m watching Miami and Dallas.

After the fest:

Well guess what?

The LA’BA was very similar to our art/street fairs. We also stayed for a concert. There were comedians and several different musical artists. A very entertaining show but when the decision was made to leave no one complained.

Here are a few unedited pictures from the first couple of days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

